Herbert Gentry

In the Same World (the two) by Herbert Gentry

"In the Same World (the two)"

“I grew up in Harlem, however I was born in Pittsburgh on July 17, 1919. My mother was from Jamaica, West Indies and went to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in her teens, where she met my father in high school. My father became a printer, and his twin sister Victoria sang for a while with the Earl Hines Orchestra.”

Painting was not a “conscious thing” he would explain, “It’s part of what I am. I’m an artist. I’m not a doctor or lawyer or anything else. It’s a part of what life is about, everything I use in art.” Read more at www.herbertgentry.com.

This entry was published on June 5, 2011 at 2:57 pm and is filed under Abstract, Acrylic painting, USA. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

